CSSP Staff, REPS, and Faculty Recognized in GAWAD KAPP 2017

Published on 09 March 2017

The awardees of staff, REPS, and faculty with the college administration

The Office of the Associate Dean for Administration and External Affairs (OADAEA) celebrated its annual recognition rites for the college’s staff, REPS (research, extension, and professional staff), and faculty, “GAWAD KAPP para sa mga Kawani, REPS, at Kaguruan”, on February 24, 2017 at the Palma Hall Room 207 from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m. The aim of the event was to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of the staff, REPS, and faculty members of the College of Social Sciences and Philosophy (CSSP). The emcee of the program was Assistant Professor Jem R. Javier.

The program opened with the singing of the national anthem and the opening remarks given by Dean Grace H. Aguiling-Dalisay. Dean Aguiling-Dalisay congratulated the endeavors of all the employees of CSSP while still encouraging them to imbibe the spirit and theme of CSSP Week 2017 – “Mapanuring Gabay sa Bayang Pilipino”.

After the dean’s remarks, the event proceeded with the recognition proper. The service awards were the first to be given out. Recognized first in this category were the retirees from the staff, REPS, and faculty. Among the retirees were Rafael E. Esteves (40 years in service), Professor Arturo M. Perez of the Department of Philosophy (28 years in service), and Zenaida F. Salas (41 years in service). An audio-visual presentation for each retiree was also presented before the actual awarding. The second to be recognized in the same category were the staff, REPS, and faculty who have served 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, and 40 years with CSSP.

The second category of awards to be given out were the various achievement awards such as the International Publication Awards, UP Faculty Grant Awards, UP Professorial Chair Awards, among others. Also awarded in this category were the new Professor Emeriti: Professor Ma. Luisa T. Camagay, PhD of the Department of History; Professor Jonathan C. Malicsi of the Department of Linguistics; and Professor Elizabeth R. Ventura of the Department of Psychology. Former Dean Consuelo J. Paz, PhD also attended the event to be awarded the University of the Philippines Alumni Association Distinguished Achievement Award.

A small salu-salo was held throughout the whole event outside the room. All photographs are courtesy of the college’s official photographer, Herby Jireh Esmeralda.

Associate Dean Kraft and Dean Aguiling-Dalisay awarding retiree Rafael E. Esteves      


 Former Dean Paz being awarded by Dean Aguiling-Dalisay and Associate Dean Kraft

 Associate Dean Kraft, Professor Emeritus Ma. Luisa T. Camagay, PhD, and Dean Aguiling-Dalisay

Associate Dean Kraft giving his closing remarks

Palma Hall, University of the Philippines Diliman, Quezon City | Telefax: (+63 2) 926 3486
Copyright 2014. All Rights Reserved.
College of Social Sciences and Philosophy | University of the Philippines Diliman